Something I wrote back in March when trying out Draft

by

Late one night back in March I tried out a cloud-based editing platform that Nathan Kontny is putting together called Draft.  It’s designed to save various drafts of your writing and to facilitate getting feedback from others as you write.  I sat down and wrote one short thing and then didn’t get back to it (we packed up our farm and moved so Geek could go to college but still live at home (he’s 16) and I didn’t have time).

Today Nathan sent an email about some neat new features which prompted me to go take another look.  WOW!  He’s added a ton of interesting capabilities.  Anyway, I realized I hadn’t published the thing I wrote and while it started out as a “blank page! Yikes!” it did document some of what was happening then and some of my thoughts about the 1% (big in the news at the time) and the challenging economic times.  Since Draft doesn’t have a feature to host finished work (turns out it does: Draft SitesI thought I’d put it here so I don’t forget it:

So, it begins. Once again all thought stops when faced with a blank page. An open window through which only air and the sounds carried upon it pass. And light. And smells. Fresh spring smells and sounds.

Where exactly to begin? Do we start with the falling apart of the social fabric? Or maybe the seeming inability of a large percentage of the super wealthy to see that sucking all the money out of an economy is like sucking all the air out of a sealed space. A fatal result for those on the inside in both cases. Even good people get desperate when they can’t breath. Or don’t have enough food to feed their children.

Sent money today to a friend who’s regular weekly music gig got cancelled for good after twice being cancelled “just this weekend.” As a result he doesn’t have enough money for food despite living on bags of potatoes from CostCo which he adorns with left-over condiments from his friend who cleans vacation rentals. Said he saw a rat in his kitchen the other night and wonders if country rats carry much disease. “As a buddhist I don’t want to kill it but I’m a little scared it might carry disease and I can’t afford a visit to a doctor…” he told me.

Time to sleep so I can earn more money tomorrow.  Might get a call from another friend in need.

—-

By the way, Nathan has a lot of great stuff on his blog about all kinds of things.  I especially liked:

Leave a Reply

